Posted by: Larry Hoekman | April 30, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 21:12-16

Day 2353: May this Saturday bring rest to your mind, spirit, body and soul!

Scripture:  The Righteous One considers what goes on in the homes of the wicked, and He brings disaster upon those wicked ones.  If I shut my ears to the cries of the poor, I will be ignored in my time of need.  A gift given in secret soothes anger, and a bribe concealed in a coat pacifies fury.  As a godly person, it is a joy to me when justice prevails, but justice is a terror to evildoers.  I should not stray away from the path of understanding, or I will end up in the company of the dead.  Proverbs 21:12-16

Thoughts/questions:  While working with teens, I was horrified at the stories I heard about how they are treated and spoken to in the ‘safety’ of their own homes. but the Father up above is looking down in love (into all homes), so be careful little hands what you do (and little mouths what you say).  Behave in your home in a way that God would delight in if He were your guest – you might as well, He’s there 24/7 anyway!!!

The cries of the poor – we read their signs on street corners and know of food kitchens and food banks, but there is difficulty in knowing how to respond. Proverbs challenges us to listen to their cry.  It could be someone near you or someone in a far away country – listen.  I challenge you to open your ears this coming week, and if God makes you aware of a need, make sure you take action!

Suggested prayer:  Lord, I need Your help in my home.  Help me to set aside my selfish interests and be a living example of You every day . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

