Posted by: Larry Hoekman | May 5, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 22:6-10

Day 2358:  Don’t look for your day to bring something to you, but look for God to bring something to your day!!!

Scripture:  Train up children in the way they should go, and when they are old, they will not depart from it.  Just as the rich rule over the poor, so the borrower is servant to the lender.  If I sow wickedness, I will reap disaster, and eventually my selfish reign will end.  If I am generous, I will be blessed, and I should give some of my food to the poor.  By driving out the mocker, I will end contentions; even quarrels and insults will end.  Proverbs 22:6-10

Thoughts/questions:  One of my Bible translations had the word ‘teach’ instead of ‘train.’  To me there is an important difference – to teach is to impart knowledge; to train is to repeat behaviors so that they become part of you.  We ‘train’ our military, and we ‘teach’ in our schools – a big difference.  It seems as if we have forsaken training children and started teaching them at too early of an age.

Parents are attempting to discuss with young children who don’t have the necessary skill set for higher levels of thinking. Training combines with consistent modeling to lay the foundation for increasing teaching later.   I recommend primarily training until about age 10, and then reducing training and doing more teaching every year after that.

If you are a bit tight-fistedwith your possessions, start opening your clenched fist releasing your grip a finger at a time and allow God to bless your willingness to share what He gave you in the first place! He can only input blessings into hands that are open and ready to receive from Him.

Suggested prayer:  Father God, thank You for being my teacher and show me ways I can be generous every day!

Leave a Reply

Categories

