Posted by: Larry Hoekman | May 11, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 23:1-8

Day 2263:  Enjoy God’s words of wisdom from Proverbs!

Scripture:  If I were to dine with a ruler, I should pay attention to what is set before me, and I should put a knife to my throat if I have a big appetite.  I must not desire those delicacies, as that food is deceptive.  I should not wear myself out trying to get rich, as I should show restraint in this area.  When I set my eyes on riches, they are gone, for wealth can take wings like an eagle flying away towards the heavens.  I should not eat with people who are stingy nor desire their delicacies, for as people think in their hearts, so they become.  They say to eat and drink but really only care about the cost, not about me.  I will end up vomiting their food and wasting my compliments.  Proverbs 23:1-8

Thoughts/questions:  It must have been an interesting conversation in heaven when the decision was made regarding how ‘good’ creation and life should be.  Certainly, an argument could have been made that if the natural world left a lot to be desired, humanity would surely turn to God.  If the beauty of creation was not so beautiful, if ‘fun’ wasn’t quite so much fun, if relationships and family weren’t so satisfying, if money wasn’t quite so useful, if self accomplishments weren’t quite so fulfilling – BUT, God wanted us to have it all!!!  ALL of the above AND Himself to make us complete!

The danger is that good can become our god, for it is usually good things, not bad, that take our time and attention away from the most important! Also, Proverbs warns us that wealth and fine food are good, but they can deceive us into thinking they are BEST!  Make sure we keep our eyes on God, not on the good He gave us to enjoy!!

Suggested prayer:  Lord, help me to never let the good You’ve given me become my god . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

