Posted by: Larry Hoekman | May 12, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 23:9-16

Day 2364:  Jesus loves me this I know, for the Bible tells me so  . .

Scripture:  I should not speak to a fool, for they will despise the wisdom of my words.  I am not to move the ancient boundaries or encroach on the fields of the fatherless for their Redeemer is strong; He will take up their case against me.  I am to commit my heart to instruction and attune my ears to words of knowledge.  I should not withhold discipline from my children; they won’t die if I spank them.  Physical discipline may well save their soul from death. It gladdens God’s heart if my heart is wise, and He has great joy when my lips speak what is right!   Proverbs 23:9-16

Thoughts/questions:  Disciplining children! A controversial subject, but we probably all agree that an undisciplined child is NOT someone you might want to be around! How about a spiritually undisciplined adult? Probably not as obvious as children, but still not a good thing. Would God put up with the undisciplined adult without attempting to help them? A loving earthly Father wouldn’t, so God wouldn’t either.

So what methods of discipline might God use on us? Any method used on a child would probably not be welcomed by the child. So if God is disciplining us, we may not like it either! Has God been ‘getting on’ you about an area in which you need to self discipline? He’s not going to stop, so discipline yourself so He doesn’t have to!

The more I’m doing these devotions, the more I am running across verses indicating God’s concern for orphans and widows.  If God, our Redeemer, is on their side, we need to join Him and take up their case as well!

Suggested prayer:  Lord, help me to discipline myself, so that You don’t have to . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

