Posted by: Larry Hoekman | May 13, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 23:17-22

Day 2365: Bless the Lord Oh my soul and all that is with in me bless His holy name!

Scripture:   I must not let my heart envy sinners, but I should always live in the fear of the Lord, for surely there is a future for me, and my hope will not be cut off.  I am to listen to God and become wise while keeping my heart on the right path.  I am not to join in with those who drink too much or who are gluttons, for they are on the road to poverty, and drowsiness will clothe them in rags.  I should listen to my Father who gave me life, and not despise my Mother when she is old.  Proverbs 23:17-22

Thoughts/questions:  Fear of the Lord is a reverence for Him as the MIGHTY God who has chosen a relationship with mere humans, but still is the MIGHTY God!  We must reverence Him!  But, I John says that perfect love casts out fear, so by knowing Him better and experiencing His love, fear’s impact on us lessens as we have our piece of CAKE. (Confident Assurance from Knowing and Experiencing God!!!)

Road to poverty is contrasted with the right path. When we are on any road or path, we haven’t arrived at our destination. However, there are signs along the way telling us we’re headed in the right direction. What are your road signs telling you? Is your path headed towards a Godly legacy or ??? We only reach the right destination when we’re on the right path!!!

Whatever your thoughts on the role of Fathers and Mothers as they age, God wants it to include solid communication and respect.  The chain of command breaks at some point as children grow, but both parties always need to be able to talk about their lives in some detail with mutual consideration!

Suggested prayer:  Lord, let everything I do show my love and reverence for You . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

