Posted by: Larry Hoekman | May 15, 2016

Proverbs 23:29-35

Day 2367:  Blessings from the living God of the Universe!!!

Scripture:  Who has woe?  Who has sorrow?  Who is always fighting?  Who has complaints?  Who has needless bruises?  Who has bloodshot eyes?  It is the ones who linger long over wine, and go try out new drinks.  I should not look upon the wine when it is red, when it sparkles in the cup, and when it goes down smoothly; for in the end it will bite me like a poisonous serpent and sting like a viper.  If I am not careful, I will see hallucinations and say crazy things.  I will be like one sleeping in the middle of the sea or lying down on the top of a mast.  I will say, “They hit me, but I am not hurt!  They beat me, but I don’t feel it!  When will I wake up so I can find another drink?”  Proverbs 23:29-35

Thoughts/questions:  I always cautioned my students to be VERY careful regarding behaviors which have recovery groups named after them!  The infamous ‘anonymous’ –Alcoholics, Narcotics, Gamblers, etc.  Where our culture deals with drugs and a variety of alcoholic drinks, Proverbs was written when the main form of ‘self medication’ was wine.

Proverbs gives us a strong warning!   We all must be very careful not to rationalize our behavior – While counseling an adult, her rationalization stopped; alcoholism was admitted: and Celebrate Recovery was attended that very night!!!

Also, my nephew’s quote still haunts me – ‘I fell in love with it (crystal meth) the first time I tried it.’  He never could stop that love affair which took his life at only 33.  Heed Proverbs warnings and BE SO CAREFUL yourself and encourage your loved ones to do the same!!!

Suggested prayer:  Father, You are all I need . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

