Posted by: Larry Hoekman | May 18, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 24:13-18

Day 2370: May your hope rest on Jesus alone!

Scripture:  Eating honey is a good thing, for the honeycomb is sweet to the taste.  In the same way, wisdom is sweet to the soul; if I find it, then there will be a future for me, and my hope will not be cut off!  It would be a wicked thing for me to act like a robber and lie in wait against the home of the godly or to raid their dwelling place.  For a righteous man falls seven times and gets up again each time, but the wicked are brought down by calamity.  I should never rejoice when my enemy falls, nor should I be happy when they stumble; for the Lord will be displeased with me and turn His anger away from them.  Proverbs 24:13-18

Thoughts/questions: Hope is an important word in God’s vocabulary.  Hope for eternity and hope throughout all of our circumstances.  Yesterday I spoke to a group receiving a free lunch at our local People’s Kitchen. Some appeared to have lost hope, so our focus was the difference between false hope and a true hope.

I stood on a chair and then threatened to try and stand on the back of the chair – they told me not to! They had faith that the chair would hold me, but no faith I could stand on the back of the chair without falling. Hopefully (pun intended) they got the idea that just hoping is not the answer, but that true hope depends on the object one is putting their faith in.

Hope’s definition includes confidence; whose definition includes faith; whose definition includes trust; which has hope in its definition – a ‘virtuous’ circle!!!   May your confidence be in His love; your faith in His strength; and your trust in His power!  That is wisdom producing hope!!!

Suggested prayer:  Father, let my hope only be in You . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

