Posted by: Larry Hoekman | May 23, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 25:7a-12

Day 2375:  So many Proverbs touch on ‘words’ – just may be important, eh???

Scripture:  Even though I have seen something with my own eyes, it doesn’t mean I should bring it hastily to court, as in the end, my neighbor might put me to shame.  I should first discuss the matter privately with my neighbor, without telling anyone else.  If I were to tell others, they might embarrass me, and then I might never again regain my good reputation.  When my words are aptly spoken, they are like apples of gold set in settings of silver!  When I give constructive criticism to someone who desires to hear it, it is like an earring of gold or an ornament of fine gold.  Proverbs 25:7a-12

Thoughts/questions:  “Well, it’s the truth!”  This is a response after someone has hurt or embarrassed someone with their words.  Yes, it was the truth, as they had seen something with their own eyes, but the words were spoken hastily and without considering their potential impact.  Proverbs warns us not to go public with our ‘truth’ about someone until we have talked over the controversy with them privately.  No law suit, no gossip – first go straight to them!  Good advice!!!

However, when our words of advice or encouragement are well thought out and aptly spoken, or when we have considered to whom we are speaking – then they enhance the lives of others – like golden apples set in a silver tray beautify the table or like jewelry made of gold adorns a face.

Today, even if your words are true, don’t speak hastily!  And seek to have your words beautify and adorn the lives of all you meet!!!

Suggested Prayer:  Most gracious and merciful God, when I open my mouth, help me to reflect You in everything I say . . . 


Leave a Reply

Categories

