Posted by: Larry Hoekman | May 31, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 26:23-28

Day 2383: In the U.S. Memorial Day is over, but our thankfulness for the fallen should never leave us!

Scripture:  Like a coating of glaze over a clay pot are fervent lips with an evil heart.  Malicious people can disguise themselves with their words, but their hearts are filled with seven abominations.  Though they pretend to be kind, I should not believe them for they are filled with all kinds of evil.  Their hatred may be hidden by deception, but I can be assured that their wickedness will eventually be exposed before all.  If I dig a pit, I will end up falling into it, and if I roll a stone down on others, it will roll back on me.  A lying tongue hates those afflicted by it, and a flattering mouth causes ruin.  Proverbs 26:23-28

Thoughts/questions:  Knowing I Samuel 16:7 that, “People look at my outward appearance, but the Lord looks at my heart,” David wrote in Psalm 51:10,  “Create in me a clean heart, Oh God, and renew a right spirit within me.”  This was part of David’s response to God when he acknowledged his multiple sins regarding his affair with Bathsheba and the resulting death of her husband.

Sometimes we also get caught up in sin.  We behave selfishly (dig a pit for others to fall into) and we don’t realize what we’re doing until we end up falling into it ourselves!  That is always a good time to respond as David did, BUT a new heart should also be our desire every day.  Changed behavior and changed speech (Matthew 12:34b – “out of the abundance of my heart, my mouth speaks.”) results from a changed heart.

God changes us from the inside out.  Let’s cooperate fully with Him in that process by making David’s prayer our prayer!!!

Suggested Prayer:  Most gracious and loving Father, create in me a clean heart, Oh God, and renew a right spirit within me . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

