Posted by: Larry Hoekman | June 2, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 27:12-17

Day 2386:  We have a most gracious and merciful God!!

Scripture:  I am being prudent by foreseeing danger ahead and taking precautions; however, I am being naïve if I go blindly ahead and suffer for it.  I should take some form of collateral from anyone who guarantees the loan of a stranger, and get a deposit if they guarantee the debt of an adulterous woman.  If I loudly try to bless my friend too early in the morning, it will be considered as a curse.  A quarrelsome woman is like a constant dripping on a rainy day.  If I attempt to restrain her, it is like restraining the wind or grasping oil with my hand.  As iron sharpens iron, so my friends sharpen me and I sharpen them.  Proverbs 27:12-17

Thoughts/questions:  I’ve always maintained that the loudness of one’s voice has nothing to do with the soundness of one’s argument.  Often, being loud takes the focus off of what is being said and onto the emotional side – some want this distraction as their point is weak, but that should not be said of us!  When we bless others and speak the truth in love, may it always be spoken so that our words, not our volume, speak the loudest!

As iron sharpens iron – usually something ‘harder/stronger’ is used to sharpen another object.  In any friendship, one will have a ‘stronger’ faith or life experience than the other at certain times and in some arenas, whereas, at other times, the other friend does.

To sharpen, there has to be contact! Sharpening my cause some initial pain, but when we let God work through friendships to knock off some of our rough edges, we show ultimate trust in Him and our friends!  Be a sensitive ‘sharpener’ and a willing ‘sharpenee’!!!

Suggested Prayer:  Lord, use my friends to sharpen my character and help me to know when I should sharpen them . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

