Posted by: Larry Hoekman | June 8, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 28:12-16

Day 2391: Praise God from Whom all blessing flow . . .

Scripture:  When the righteous triumph, there is great glory, but when the wicked rise to power, people go into hiding.  If I try to cover my sins, I will not prosper, but if I confess and forsake them, I will find mercy!  I am blessed when I always fear the Lord, but when I harden my heart, I fall into trouble. A wicked person ruling over helpless people is like a roaring lion or a charging bear.  An oppressive leader lacks understanding, but one who hates dishonesty and bribes will enjoy a long life. Proverbs 28:12-16

Thoughts/questions:  Leadership is important to God, so we must pray for America! When countries choose or appoint their leaders, will the result be that the righteous triumph or will the wicked rise to power?  It often depends on one’s perspective, but for God it depends on the character of the victor.  Will God consider the outcome to be one which could bring great glory or ???

Numbers 32:23b warns the people of Israel, “your sins will find you out.”  Ex-president Clinton and MANY others thought they could cover their sins, but eventually their sins were brought into the light. We all sin and regularly must repent, confess and forsake our sin, and our now forgiven life should be one of gratitude to Him who extends to us what we don’t deserve – MERCY!!!  Be specific as you confess, and He will make you white as snow!!!

Suggested Prayer:  Most gracious and merciful God, I confess to You my sin of __________________ .  Thank You for giving me Your mercy . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

