Posted by: Larry Hoekman | June 16, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 29:1-5

Day 2394: Three more chapters of Proverbs left! Thankful for all the wisdom found in this book.

Scripture:  If I stubbornly refuse to accept reproof, I will suddenly be broken without remedy.  When the righteous are in authority, the people rejoice, but when a wicked man rules, the people groan.  By loving wisdom, I bring joy to my father, but a companion of prostitutes wastes their wealth.  A just king brings stability to his country, but one who is greedy for bribes tears it down.  If I flatter my neighbor, I am spreading a net for their feet.  Proverbs 29:1-5

Thoughts/questions:  The bottom line is that my natural man really doesn’t want to be involved in reproof at any level.  I would just as soon not even be aware of it, much less have to reflect on it and probably make some sort of change in my life.  So, I’m probably not going to ‘seek out’ reproof any time soon, but spiritually I MUST welcome it.

God, our Creator, knows full well that we are all like ‘sheep who have gone astray’.  Going astray is something I’ve done, am continually doing, and realistically will do in the future; therefore the NEED for me to be reproved.  God knows this about all of us and will use many ways to reprove us – a spouse, boss, child, friend, reading, still small voice, or a two by four on our head!  We must not stubbornly refuse to accept reproof.

Flattery is a compliment with an agenda that feeds into one’s pride and ego.  Proverbs warns us not to give or receive flattery.  It will deceive!  When we give it, we misrepresent the truth, usually for our own purpose, which goes against what we should be doing – speaking the truth in love.  When we receive it, it feeds the things we don’t need to grow – our pride and ego, which goes against God’s call for us to be humble.  Stay away from flattery – don’t give it or accept it!

Suggested Prayer:  Most gracious and merciful God, help me to live in truth – to accept reproof and to avoid flattery . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

