Posted by: Larry Hoekman | June 27, 2016

Great Chapters in the Bible — I John 4

Day 2405:  Some challenging questions today!

Scripture:  This is real love; not that I loved God, but that He loved me and sent His Son as the sacrifice to take away my sins.  So if God loved me that much, I definitely am to love others.  No one has ever seen God, but if I love others, God lives in me, and His love is perfected in me.  I John 4:10-12

Thoughts/questions:  Yesterday’s focus was on love and how we can love because He first loved us.  Today, we will substitute some other characteristics Jesus displayed in His life on earth.

He forgave!  Yeah, but you don’t know what so and so did to me and I’ll never forgive them!  Oops, we are thankful that God forgives us for soooooo much, but we won’t forgive what others did to us???  (If you are having trouble forgiving, read Jesus’ parable in Matt. 18:21-35 and especially notice the response to lack of forgiveness!)

He accepted His lot in life!  Knowing the injustice and pain that was to culminate His 33 years on earth, Jesus still accepted His destiny.  How are you doing in this area?  Are you content with your current situation?  Whether that be your ministry, spiritual impact, possessions, size of your business – Jesus accepted far worse, so we can too!

Jesus reacted with compassion!  Would compassion characterize your reactions to people in differing circumstances than your own?  Do their life choices which are contrary to yours illicit words of compassion or ???

Jesus overcame opposition!  He faced opposition at every turn whereas we may face it only occasionally, but our reaction should be similar.  Usually He replied to opposition with questions and disarmed His enemies without a fight.  What are you doing when opposition comes your way?

Jesus spent time alone praying!  This is a tough one for me, but it is never too late to start!  If He needed to do this, we do too!

These definitely are challenges for all of us, but He did not leave us alone.  Not only do we have His example, but we have His Spirit to help us.  Don’t rely on your own strength to try to emulate His life in your body – let His Spirit live through you!!!

Suggested prayer:  Lord, I am weak.  Help me to follow your example . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

