Posted by: Larry Hoekman | June 28, 2016

Great Chapters in the Bible — I John 4

Day 2406: In thee alone will I put my trust!!!

Scripture:  I know that I abide in Him and He abides in me, because He has given me His Spirit.  Others have seen with their own eyes and now testify that the Father has sent His Son to be my Savior and the Savior of the world.  When I, or anyone, acknowledge that Jesus is the Son of God, we can be assured that God lives in us, and we live in Him.  I John 4:13-15

Thoughts/questions:  God’s Spirit, Holy Spirit, is our confirming voice that the living God dwells in us, and we dwell in Him!!  BUT He is far more.  Saying ‘the’ Holy Spirit kind of diminishes His personhood, as we don’t say ‘the’ God, or ‘the’ Jesus, so I try not to say ‘the’ Holy Spirit.  I thought ‘The Shack’ portrayed a visual image of Holy Spirit extremely well, but His role in our lives is far more important than any physical characteristic.

The role of Holy Spirit is Comforter, Counselor, Intercessor, Guide, Advocate, Helper, and more, as Holy Spirit seals us with the confirming and assuring pledge of our eternal state as one of God’s children.  He is also responsible for producing the ‘fruit of the Spirit’ in our lives – quite a list of ‘tasks’ He does in our lives!!!  I have found that in a quiet moment, literally and figuratively breathing in God’s Spirit and breathing out the ‘bad stuff’ invites Him in.  Take a moment and breathe in the good and breathe out the bad!

I remember having a car slide into my car on a snow covered 2-lane road.  I waited until I had the address of an eyewitness as to who was at fault because I knew the value of an eyewitness.  John, the author, also knew that and reminds us that people had seen with their own eyes the life and resurrection of Jesus and heard His claims regarding eternal life!  Ours is NOT a blind faith!  Yes, it is faith, but it is a faith based on eyewitnesses, history, personal experience, and prophecy regarding the Bible and the Savior of the world!  Because of these, we can know and be assured!!!

Suggested prayer:  Holy Spirit, thank You for all You do for me . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

