Posted by: Larry Hoekman | June 29, 2016

Great Chapters in the Bible — I John 4

Day 2407:  May God’s love flow through you this summer day!

Scripture:  Now I know and rely on how much God loves me.  God is love and when I abide in love, I abide in God, and God abides in me.  This is how my love is perfected, so that I may have confidence on the day of judgment, because in this world I am like Him.  For me, there should be no fear in this love, as perfect love casts out fear, because fear has to do with punishment.  By having fear, I demonstrate that love has not been perfected in me.  I John 4:16-18

Thoughts/questions:  We all rely on something, and what a great thing to rely on – God’s love!  Sports teams rely on their best players during crunch time, but they don’t always deliver.  But God, our Deliverer, loves us with such a deep love that when we rely on Him, He always comes through.  NOT always is the way we might want, but always from His never ending love.  When we cast ourselves into His care, His love will completely overwhelm us.

But for some reason, we have a fear of God regarding our present circumstances and our eternal life.  Why???  While golfing once, I had to get a ball from the bushes, which happens more often than I would like.  After checking what type of bushes they were, I boldly reached into them to get the ball without fear because I knew there were no poisonous bushes or snakes there.  My lack of fear resulted from having a Confident Assurance from Knowledge and Experience (CAKE)!

Our knowledge of His love combines with experiencing demonstrations of His love towards us to cast out fear!  To eliminate fear regarding our mortal present and our immortal future, we must do both.  Reading the Bible and talking to other Christ followers helps us to gain knowledge.  Increasingly trusting Him in all areas of our lives and then watching Him take care of us lets us experience His love in unique and meaningful ways!

No Fear – possible when we have a Confident Assurance from Knowledge and Experience of God’s love!!  It’s a piece of CAKE!

Suggested prayer:  God, help me to cast out my fear and rely on how much You love me . . .

Responses

  1. Great piece of CAKE today Larry! Thank you


Leave a Reply

Categories

