Posted by: Larry Hoekman | July 1, 2016

Great Chapters in the Bible — Colossians 3

Day 2409:  Let His peace permeate your life!

Scripture:  Because I have been raised with Christ, I should be seeking the things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God.  I am to set my mind on the things above, and not on the things here on earth.  Colossians 3:1,2

Thoughts/questions: Before my son and I were seated at the NCAA basketball playoffs we regularly attend, a lot of things had to happen to secure seats and get there, plus the more we knew about the teams, the more involved we got in each game.

Well, Christ followers have a new seat!  Our new ‘seat’ reminds me of the line in the old hymn, ‘this world is not my home, I’m just a passin’ through.’  Our body, or earth suit, is going to eventually return to dust, but a seat in heaven is reserved for everyone who has asked Jesus into their heart!!  Is that enough?  In some ways, yes, but our eartthly focus is to be on the things above!  When we stretch out our existence over eternity, our time on this world is merely a speck, so it makes sense that our thoughts and energies become primarily focused on that eternal position!

If we don’t choose to ‘set’ our minds on the things above, we will get caught up in the things here on earth.  So, how do I set my mind? and what are the things above?  As brother Lawrence stated in ‘Practicing the Presence of God’, we can experience God throughout all of our day, whether doing dishes like he often had to do, or in whatever we are doing.  It’s possible to do, but it won’t happen without effort and reminders.  Devotionals like God2me help us get focused, and stickers, pictures or anything else appropriately placed help to remind us to reset!

Things above – let God do this part – each day as we set our minds on Him, He WILL put people, ideas, and opportunities in our lives that are His plan – and His plan definitely qualifies as things above!!!

Suggested prayer: Lord Jesus, help me to use my mind the way You want me to . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

