Posted by: Larry Hoekman | July 3, 2016

Great Chapters in the Bible — Colossians 3

Day 2211:  Even though it’s a holiday weekend in the U.S,, we still all should rest on Sunday!

Scripture:   Therefore, I need to put to death my earthly nature consisting of immorality, impurity, passion, evil desire, and covetousness, which amounts to idolatry.  It is because of these things that the wrath of God will come upon those who disobey Him.  These are things I used to do in the life I once lived.  Colossians 3:5-7

Thoughts/questions:  This is not going to be an easy death (or separation), as our earthly nature is a formidable foe.  If we could get our old nature completely separated from our ‘new and improved’ nature, it would be put to death.  However, this is only a trial separation – we try, we fail, but we try again.  There are times when my old nature reveals itself and it is not good!!   Thankfully, I can recognize the ole guy almost immediately and realize I have a battle on my hands, which needs to be fought daily!

The list of sins seems extreme; however, we have probably done all or most of them.  When Jesus moved our sins from our behaviors to our thought life, He definitely included all of us.  Our earthly nature desires to express itself in self-fulfilling pleasures, which include Colossians’ list.  We deceive ourselves if we try to say that we are without sin, and even if only one of the things in that list was part of your past, one is enough to have us fall short of God’s glory.  We must put to death our old self even if that is moment by moment!

Contentment vs. satisfaction.  My desire is to be content, but never satisfied; therefore, always trying to stretch myself and try new things while at the same time having an attitude of complete contentment with who I am and what I have.  Covetousness – an excessive desire for something – is said by some to be the root cause of almost every sin.  Are you ‘worshipping’ something you don’t have?  Don’t let it become an idol, and ask God to help you be content!  Count your blessings!

Suggested prayer:  Living God of the universe, help me to daily keep my old self far away from my new life in You . . .

Responses

  1. Larry
    Moment by moment staying armored up & in the battle!
    “Content but never satisfied” that is the key! At peace while still pressing on; hopefully being pulled by His Spirit & not other distracting desires.
    Thank you for getting into my head & heart this morning


Leave a Reply

Categories

