Posted by: Larry Hoekman | July 4, 2016

Great Chapters in the Bible — Colossians 3

Day 2412: Happy 4th for those of you in the U.S. – I’m currently in Switzerland! 

Scripture:  But now I also am to put aside all of these:  anger, wrath, malice, slander and obscene talk.  I should not lie to others, because I have put aside my old self with its evil practices, and have put on the new self who is being continually renewed by true knowledge into the image of my Creator.  My new self should not make any distinction between a Gentile or Jew, circumcised or uncircumcised, foreigner, savage, slave or free; but Christ is all, and in all.  Colossians 3:8-11

Thoughts/questions:  Anger and the old self – there are a couple of opponents I haven’t completely put aside, and today I’ll focus on ‘putting aside’ anger.  Things aren’t put aside accidentally or without our knowledge.  What has worked best for me in regarding putting aside anger is based on consciously yielding my rights regarding something to God.

Anger is said to happen when one’s right to something is violated.  For example, in a relationship, you may feel that you have a right to be treated a certain way, and when the other person doesn’t behave that way, anger can easily result.  God is continuously working in our lives through the behaviors of others. Only by completely trusting Him, can we be confident that He only allows things to happen to us for our good.  If we have ‘put aside’ our rights in that relationship and given them to God, then He is controlling the situation, and we then only have the responsibility of our reactions – a reaction to God working in our lives resulting not in anger, but resulting in taking the responsibilities He has given us for our actions in that relationship!  Give up ‘your’ rights and make them ‘His’ rights and put aside anger!

When God views humanity, He does so on a level plane – no hierarchy according to our nationality, gender, fame, or fortune. His standard is one – someone’s relationship with Christ.  Everything else pales in comparison.  How are you doing regarding making ‘distinctions’???  Ask God to help you see everyone through His loving eyes.

Suggested prayer:  Lord, help me to yield my rights to You and to take on only the responsibilities You give back me . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

