Posted by: Larry Hoekman | July 5, 2016

Great Chapters in the Bible — Colossians 3

Day 2403:  Happy ???  Joyful – Yes!!!

Scripture:  Because I am beloved of God and have been chosen by Him to be holy, I am to put on a heart of compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience.  I need to bear the burdens of others and forgive them.  If someone has hurt me, I need to forgive them – just as the Lord forgave me.  Colossians 3:12,13

Thoughts/questions:  The word ‘put’ dominates this first part of Colossians 3 – put to death, put aside, and now put on.  Out with the old/in with the new!  Often we make commitments to get rid of an attitude or behavior, but we forget that without replacing it with a positive, the old ways soon return to fill the void.

After emptying ourselves of the negative, Colossians encourages us to put on positives like compassion – an action just like putting on your clothes or putting on a fresh coat of paint.  I have found that compassion grows from perspective and prayer.  When we get to know the circumstances of some people’s lives and/or begin to pray for them, it changes our perspective and our heart changes from anger and potential bitterness to a heart of compassion!

If someone has hurt you please do this:  1) Pray for them!  When you start thinking about them and what they have done to you, instead of having it cripple you emotionally, ALWAYS pray for them and over time God will change your heart.  2) Forgive as God forgave you (Lord’s prayer) – for me that has meant to forgive WITHOUT the other person asking, deserving, or knowing that I forgave them.  I remember a time I had become upset about someone’s behavior towards my wife.  After reading this verse, I knew I had to forgive them like God forgives me – even when I forget to confess my sin – so I forgave the person, and it freed me up to love them (tomorrow’s verse) without holding a grudge and without them even being aware of it.  PRAY and FORGIVE!!!

Suggested prayer:  Lord, help me to put on a heart of compassion . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

