Posted by: Larry Hoekman | July 16, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 29:23-27

Day 2214: Back home and back to finish up Proverbs!

Scripture:  Pride will bring me down, but humility will bring me honor.  If I were to partner with a thief, I would be my own worst enemy – I would be punished if I reported the crime or cursed if I didn’t.  It is a trap for me to fear man, but when I trust in the Lord, I will be kept safe.  Many seek the favor of rulers, but it is from the Lord that I receive justice.  The unjust person is repulsive to the righteous, just like those who walk uprightly are repulsive to the wicked.  Proverbs 29:23-27

Thoughts/questions:  The Bible teaches us so many things that seem in direct opposition to the ‘norm’.  Proverbs tells us that we get honor when we are humble, but pride brings us down.  Other Biblical teachings are that we die to self, so we can live for God.  The last shall be first and the first shall be last.  By trying to save our life we lose it.  To get we have to give.  We are blessed when we bless others.  It is better to give than to receive.  Yes, God’s ways are not our ways!!!  My prayer for all of us is that His ways become our ways!!!

For most of us, we are seldom in danger, so the word safe is not part of our daily vocabulary.  However, when we or those we love are in danger, security and safety immediately become our primary concern.  Our trust is well founded when we place it in the living God of the universe, as He provides for our safety and security at ALL times!!  Because He regularly keeps danger away from us, we need to be reminded to be thankful that we are kept safe!  Definitely include ‘being safe’ on your list of things to be thankful for!

Suggested Prayer:  Lord, help me to never take for granted that You are the One who keeps me safe . . .


Responses

  1. Welcome Home! So much to absorb and do…unless His Spirit fills…and then it flows!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

