Posted by: Larry Hoekman | August 20, 2016

The Lord is my . . . Rock!

Day 2247: Have a blessed Saturday. Headed to a funeral of our Pastor – sad, but not as those who have no hope . . .

Scripture: The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. Psalm 18:2

Thoughts/questions: Although today’s verse contains more than one aspect of who ‘The Lord is . . .’, we’ll only focus on one today – The Lord is my ROCK!!!

The characteristics a rock has depends upon the condition in which it formed. How the Lord is to you will similarly depend upon the conditions in which you form your opinion of Him!

Has your view of God come from your experience with Him? The teachings of your parents during your youth? Your own explanation of what this Higher Power might be? A reaction to the events of this world? Or the truth of His word?

Has your formation of God resulted in Him being so much smaller than who He really is? Or is your God big enough to take care of EVERYTHING – even the U.S. elections??? Or can He only be your rock when your problems and challenges are small in nature?

The Lord is MY rock, emphasizing the word my. We’ve each had a hand in forming our conception of God, but truth should trump any of our notions about who He is! His word is the key in knowing His greatness; His creation demonstrates His awesomeness; and His sacrifice tells us how much He cares!

Suggested prayer: Father God, my Rock – may I see You clearly as the one and only Almighty God . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

