Posted by: Larry Hoekman | August 22, 2016

The Lord is my . . . Fortress!

Day 2249: Happy Monday!!! Yes, 1/7 of your life is still on Mondays, so maximize them!!!

Scripture: The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. Psalm 18:2

Thoughts/questions: Our first thoughts when considering the word fortress might be the idea of a fort protecting people or a military installation. For many of us, we remember the fort at The Alamo and realize that this type of fort CAN be taken and does not provide real protection. So is God being our fortress not really that much comfort?

However, a definition of fortress is this – “a person or thing not susceptible to outside influence or disturbance.” Now, the Lord is my fortress makes more sense! Our God does not change nor is He reactionary. Nothing can influence His inherent love for us. He loves us NO MATTER what we do. Sure, there are areas we all need to improve; however, God’s love for us is NOT influenced by our behavior – good or bad . . .

Disturbances abound in and around all of our lives, but God is NOT susceptible to those. His present and eternal plans for us remain unchanged! He is not running around reacting to the events of our lives, but has proactively created and gifted us to serve others as His Son served us. Stay the course! Do not become discouraged! Continue to fight the good fight!

Yes, God is my FORTRESS!!! I can trust Him completely!

Suggested prayer: Sovereign Lord, Your relationship with me is so steady and consistent. Help my relationship with You to be the same . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

