Posted by: Larry Hoekman | August 23, 2016

The Lord is my . . . Deliverer!!!

Day 2250: Treasure each day! I’ve gone to three funerals this year of people younger than me . . .

Scripture: The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. Psalm 18:2

Thoughts/questions: When we consider The Lord as my DELIVERER, we tend to think of what He is delivering us from, and that is super important! For David, he needed deliverance from his earthly enemies, but we all share in needing to be delivered from self and the spiritual forces of darkness.

However, I am awaiting a delivery in a couple of days and when the word deliverer is used in this context, we think about UPS or the Postal Service delivering to us what we had ordered or what someone had sent us.

Yes, we do need God to deliver us ‘from’ various things, but we should not neglect the fact that as our Deliverer, He delivers ‘to us’ as well. And what a truck full of goodies He has for us!

The Fruit of the Spirit for one – Love, Joy, Peace, Patience, Goodness, Kindness, Faithfulness, Self-Control, and Gentleness – quite a delivery in and of itself! Plus He delivers to us Hope, Forgiveness, Righteousness, Light, Salvation, Strength, Security and the list goes on.

The Lord is my Deliverer!!!

Suggested prayer: Almighty God, You deliver me from so much and You deliver so much to me! Thank You Father . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

