Posted by: Larry Hoekman | August 24, 2016

The Lord is my . . . Shield!

Day 2251: The nature of my stage of life – visiting Gkids, kids, and Mom today!!! I’m glad God’s a generational God!

Scripture: The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. Psalm 18:2

Thoughts/questions: A shield! A means of protection would be a great aspect of who God is to us, but let’s look at this from a different perspective.

When we put on the full armor of God found in Ephesians 6, the shield is a shield of faith! So the cyclical nature of God is revealed again!

God gives us a measure of faith (Romans 12:3), making our faith sourced in Him, and then that same faith is used as part of His armor for us to use for protections against spiritual forces of darkness.

So our shield has been directly given to us from Him for our protection – WOW! As Psalm 3:3 states, “But You, O LORD, are a shield about me, my glory, and the lifter of my head.”

Suggested prayer: Father God, thank You for giving me my shield and being my shield . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

