Posted by: Larry Hoekman | September 1, 2016

The Lord is My . . . Helper!

Day 2257: A repeat verse with a new twist!

Scripture: So we can confidently say, “The Lord is my helper; I will not fear; what can man do to me?” Hebrews 13:6

Thoughts/questions: I used this verse a few days ago in reference to my grand daughter’s expression, “I need help!” Today our focus will shift to a differing result of God being our helper.

When superheroes encounter adversity, they don’t fear as they know their assailant does not have the power to hurt them thru any means. Their defense is their super powers (and good writers!). If we are to be like them and not fear, the idea of God being our helper HAS to be a reality in our lives!

In the famous scene in ‘Raiders of the Lost Ark’, Harrison Ford’s character is faced with a sword wielding enemy. He appears concerned, then shrugs and takes out his gun shooting the man. Yes, when we have a more powerful weapon than our enemy, there is no fear.

So when God is our helper and man is the protagonist, the ultimate power is on our side so we shouldn’t fear, yet ??? Would it be better if we stated, ‘My strength is my helper’ or ‘my wit is my helper’ or ‘my financial status is my helper’ or anything else we’ve got to ‘help’ us is what we choose as our helper?

If fear is to be eliminated, the one and only helper can be the all-powerful One and He has promised He will be that helper! The problem is with us, not Him! Yes, the Lord is my helper; I will NOT fear!

Suggested prayer: Dear Lord, I too often look to myself to be my helper even though I know I shouldn’t. Help me to trust You and You alone . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

