Posted by: Larry Hoekman | September 3, 2016

The Lord is my . . . Portion!

Day 2259: Life truly is hard! Depend on God to get you thru!

Scripture: The LORD is my portion; I promise to keep Your words. Psalm 119:57

Thoughts/questions: Knowing that a portion means part of a whole, this verse seems to contradict the idea that God is our everything – our all in all! However, a portion/part can also be choosing what you want from a variety of options.

For example, at a smorgasbord, one picks only a portion of what’s available to them (most of us anyway). The portion picked was what was prioritized as the best of what was offered. When we consider ALL that is offered to us, there are a myriad of portions we could choose.

The Psalmist’s statement confirms their choice. Of all they could have chosen they say, ‘The Lord is my portion!’ Joshua put it this way, ‘Choose you this day whom (your portion) you will serve. But as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.

How do you put it? Your portion? Fill in the blank, “As for me, my portion is ________.” The Lord wants to be our portion, but the competition for our hearts and minds is intense. But we DO have a choice; choose wisely!

Suggested prayer: Lord Almighty, I so often choose worldly pleasures other than You. May my life loudly say, ‘The LORD is my portion’ . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

