Posted by: Larry Hoekman | September 9, 2016

The Lord is my . . . God!

Day 2265: TGIF – I repeat this a lot, but without it, where are we? Thank God I’m Forgiven!

Scripture: Teach me to do Your will, For You are my God; Let Your good Spirit lead me on level ground. Psalms 143:10

Thoughts/questions: I took a tiny bit of liberty with the wording, but the meaning is clear – The Lord is my God!!! A definition of God – ‘the creator and ruler of the universe and source of all moral authority; the supreme being.’

Creator – check; ruler of the universe – check; supreme being – check! Moral authority – hmmmm??? Moral authority is authority based on truth! As manipulating and self serving as it might be to do this, the Bible IS not recorded in a three ring binder. We can’t open the rings and take out things we don’t like or insert pages we would like to be there.

No, His truth in the Bible IS our authority. Rationalization is not truth. Convenience is not truth. Self pleasure is not truth. Accommodating the behavior of others is not truth. Whatever works is not truth!

The Lord is my God! As the source of our moral authority, We are to OBEY. Question – OK! Frustrated -OK! Angry – OK! Disobedience – NOT OK!

Suggested prayer: Father God, You ARE God and I am not. Help me not to act like I am . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

