Posted by: Larry Hoekman | September 10, 2016

The Lord is my . . . Rock!

Day 2266: The Saturday and Sunday post!

Scripture: Praise the LORD, who is my rock. He trains my hands for war and gives my fingers skill for battle. Psalms 143:10

Thoughts/questions: There are so many analogies regarding God being our rock, but I’ll only do one – size. Although it’s not the largest, it is probably the most familiar to readers of God2me – El Capitan in Yosemite.

This rock, or monolith, rises over 3,000 feet vertically from Yosemite Valley. With Half Dome being part of it, not only is the size of this rock impressive, it also is impressive to observe. This rock with its weight immeasurable is said to have been glacially formed 100 million years ago, but I believe a bigger Rock than this one was able to create it!

Like God, El Capitan cannot be moved yet people interact with it daily. It’s wonder brings statements of praise from those who climb it or merely look at it. Maybe that rock gets a better response the our Rock does?

Our Rock deserves better from us than His created ones! How are you doing in that regard?

Suggested prayer: God my Rock, You are far greater than Your creation. May I always keep You in Your proper place . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

