Posted by: Larry Hoekman | September 21, 2016

Psalms — Psalms 6 – Too Late?

Day 2544: May you seek to be a blessing to others today and every day . . .

Scripture: Lord, do not rebuke me in Your anger, nor chasten me in Your wrath. Be gracious to me, O Lord, for I am pining away; heal me, O Lord, for my bones are dismayed. And my soul is greatly dismayed; but You, O Lord—how long?

Return, O Lord, rescue my soul; save me because of Your lovingkindness. For there is no mention of You in death; in Sheol who will give You thanks? I am weary with my sighing; every night I make my bed swim; I dissolve my couch with my tears. My eye has wasted away with grief; it has become old because of all my adversaries.

Depart from me, all you who do iniquity, for the Lord has heard the voice of my weeping. The Lord has heard my supplication; the Lord receives my prayer. All my enemies will be ashamed and greatly dismayed; they shall turn back, they will suddenly be ashamed. Psalms 6

Thoughts/questions: During difficult times, we need to ‘quickly’ turn our thoughts heavenly as the Psalmist did before despair takes over!

Yet, as the Psalmist reflects on eternity, there seems to be an indication that at some point it might be too late for us. It is said that there is a vast difference between being ‘late’ and being ‘too late!’ Our relationship with God MUST be taken care of before it is too late!

Today, don’t wait. Secure your place in eternity by asking Jesus to be the Lord of your life. And if you’ve already done that, chop off an area of your life you know is not pleasing to The Almighty. Yes, don’t wait! Someday it WILL be too late . . .

Suggested prayer: Father God, I need Your help . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

