Posted by: Larry Hoekman | October 3, 2016

Psalms — Psalm 13 – The Present and the Past!

Day 2554: Seek to make a difference, even on Monday!

Scripture: How long, O Lord? Will You forget me forever? How long will You hide Your face from me? How long shall I take counsel in my soul, having sorrow in my heart all the day? How long will my enemy be exalted over me?

Consider and answer me, O Lord my God; enlighten my eyes, or I will sleep the sleep of death, and my enemy will say, “I have overcome him,” and my adversaries will rejoice when I am shaken.

But I have trusted in Your lovingkindness; my heart shall rejoice in Your salvation. I will sing to the Lord, because He has dealt bountifully with me. Psalms 13

Thoughts/questions: The Psalmist is struggling and his circumstances don’t appear to change throughout the Psalm, but he does! The first part is similar to our struggles at times, but how quickly do we transition to the last part – trust/rejoice/sing???

The present is too often filled with the feeling that God is so distant He seems hidden. Looking to the future brings little hope, BUT looking back was the key for the Psalmist and will be for us as well!

His attitude changes when he remembers how He has dealt bountifully with me. Remember times of God’s provision, protection, and care! When times are hard, replay those memories; then trust, rejoice, and sing as you remember how He has dealt bountifully with you.

Suggested prayer: Lord God, so often I forgot the things You have done for me. Help me to never forget . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

