Posted by: Larry Hoekman | October 11, 2016

Psalms — Psalm 17:8-15 – The Apple of the Eye!

Day 2560: May the Lord grant you peace . . .

Scripture: Keep me as the apple of the eye; hide me in the shadow of Your wings from the wicked who despoil me and my deadly enemies who surround me. They have closed their unfeeling heart; with their mouth they speak proudly. They have now surrounded us in our steps; they set their eyes to cast us down to the ground. He is like a lion that is eager to tear, and as a young lion lurking in hiding places.

Arise, O Lord, confront him, bring him low; deliver my soul from the wicked with Your sword; from men with Your hand, O Lord, from men of the world, whose portion is in this life, and whose belly You fill with Your treasure They are satisfied with children, and leave their abundance to their babes. As for me, I shall behold Your face in righteousness; I will be satisfied with Your likeness when I awake. Psalm 17:8-15

Thoughts/questions: It’s very hard to put God’s characteristics in human terms we can comprehend; however, the Psalmist utilizes wings. I’ve seen some pretty large birds, but if one were to be able to actually hide in that shadow – that must be one BIG bird! When God casts His shadow, we can all find room to hide!

Also, it is hard to verbalize how much God cares for each one of us. The Psalmist uses the apple of God’s eye! YES, we are individually special to Almighty God! Amongst the estimated 2 billion followers of Christ, we are each special to Him!!! Unbelievable? Our God’s pretty big, eh!

Scripture: Almighty God, I can’t comprehend How great You are and how much You love me. Help me know Your greatness . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

