Posted by: Larry Hoekman | October 18, 2016

Psalms — Psalm 22 – Evidence!

Day 2566: What’s 4 weeks from now? The U.S. presidential election! Finally!

Scripture: Prophecies regarding Jesus in Psalm 22:

My God, my God, why have You forsaken me? 

But I am a worm and not a man, a reproach of men and despised by the people. All who see me sneer at me; they separate with the lip, they wag the head, saying, “Commit yourself to the Lord; let Him deliver him; let Him rescue him, because He delights in him.”

I am poured out like water, and all my bones are out of joint; my heart is like wax; it is melted within me. My strength is dried up like a potsherd, and my tongue cleaves to my jaws;

A band of evildoers has encompassed me; they pierced my hands and my feet. I can count all my bones. They look, they stare at me; they divide my garments among them, and for my clothing they cast lots.

Thoughts/questions: Faith rests on belief. Belief rests on information. Information rests on its veracity. Veracity – what is truth? When the truth of the Bible is questioned, fulfilled prophecy supports our faith! These quotes, written long before Jesus ever walked on the earth, were fulfilled on the cross.

David lived approximately 1,000 B.C., while the very first record of a crucifixion is found in app. 500 B.C., yet a crucifixion is pretty well described waaaaay before its time! How? – a timeless God who wrote a book! I believe, Lord! Help my unbelief!

Suggested prayer: Dear Jesus, thank You for being willing to live out what You knew was ahead of You for me . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

