Posted by: Larry Hoekman | October 20, 2016

Psalms — Psalm 23 – Great Phrases!

Day 2568: For a more detailed extensive look at Psalm 23, click on Great Biblical Chapters in the First Person Devotions section on the site page and read those past devotionals!

Scripture:/Thoughts/questions:  I’m combining my thoughts within blessed phrases of this great Psalm! 

The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want. (We are to stop ‘wanting’ all the time – He gives us what we need!) He makes me lie down in green pastures; (Yes, God MAKES us sleep – and for Christ followers, our sleep is in green pastures of peace!) He leads me beside quiet waters. (More peace!) He restores my soul; (Restoration is available in Him!) He guides me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake. (I love the assistance of guides when I visit new places and what a GREAT guide we have!)

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, (Yes, there are difficult valleys, but there IS light; hence merely a ‘shadow’ of death!)  I fear no evil, for You are with me; (Perfect trust knowing He is there!) Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me. (Discipline and correction give our children direction; hence comfort. God does the same with us!)

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; (Stomach churning from worry? God wants us to be at peace and eat at His table!) You have anointed my head with oil; my cup overflows. (Fill up with God’s goodness and let it overflow to others!) Surely goodness and mercy will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever. (Taken care of now and forever!)  Psalm 23

Suggested prayer: Father God, thank You for having David write such a wonderful Psalm . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

