Posted by: Larry Hoekman | November 5, 2016

Psalms — Psalm 35 – Prayer and Fasting?

Day 2582: May you be a blessing to someone this weekend!

Scripture: Contend, O Lord, with those who contend with me; fight against those who fight against me. Take hold of buckler and shield and rise up for my help. Draw also the spear and the battle-axe to meet those who pursue me; say to my soul, “I am your salvation.”

Let those be ashamed and dishonored who seek my life; let those be turned back and humiliated who devise evil against me. And my soul shall rejoice in the Lord; it shall exult in His salvation. All my bones will say, “Lord, who is like You, Who delivers the afflicted from him who is too strong for him,

But as for me, when they were sick, my clothing was sackcloth; I humbled my soul with fasting, and my prayer kept returning to my bosom. Lord, how long will You look on? Rescue my soul from their ravages. You have seen it, O Lord, do not keep silent;O Lord, do not be far from me. 

Let them shout for joy and rejoice, who favor my vindication; and let them say continually, “The Lord be magnified, Who delights in the prosperity of His servant.” And my tongue shall declare Your righteousness and Your praise all day long. Excerpts from Psalm 35

Thoughts/questions: We have adversity and sometimes our adversity takes the form of an adversary. As the Psalmist states, ‘God is our salvation,‘ but our role is relevant in the battle. ‘As for me‘ – prayer and fasting was his response and maybe should be ours as well. Facing difficulties? Someone fighting against you? May prayers return to you and may fasting keep you focused on the One who will be your salvation!
Suggested prayer: Lord God, you are my eternal salvation; save me from my adversaries . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

