Posted by: Larry Hoekman | November 11, 2016

Psalms — Psalm 39 – To Speak or not to Speak?

Day 2585: What a revealing week in the life of the US of A . . .  God help us!

Scripture: I said, “I will guard my ways that I may not sin with my tongue; I will guard my mouth as with a muzzle while the wicked are in my presence.” I was mute and silent, I refrained even from good, and my sorrow grew worse. 

My heart was hot within me, while I was musing the fire burned; then I spoke with my tongue: Lord, make me to know my end and what is the extent of my days; let me know how transient I am.

“Behold, You have made my days as handbreadths, and my lifetime as nothing in Your sight; surely every man at his best is a mere breath. “Hear my prayer, O Lord, and give ear to my cry; do not be silent at my tears; for I am a stranger with You; a sojourner like all my fathers.  Excerpts from Psalm 39

Thoughts/questions: The Psalmist first tried to control his tongue; then chose to be silent; and then spoke again. But those words were directed to God so that he could realize the brevity of life and the vast length of eternity!

When we have the proper perspective regarding our lives, then we have a fighting chance as we deal with the fire contained in our tongue. We lash out with our tongue so many times about things that have NO eternal significance.

If it ain’t important, use that golden silence!!! If it matters for eternity, speak and speak loudly! Take your focus off the mere breath of a political situation and win that battle with your tongue more often as you know your end and the extent of your days!

Suggested prayer: Lord, help me to remember that I was created for eternity and my life on earth is a mere breath . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

