Posted by: Larry Hoekman | November 16, 2016

Psalms — Psalm 42 – Start Well; End Well!

Day 2589: Life is filled with the unexpected; trust the One who’s never surprised!

Scripture:  As the deer pants for the water, so my soul pants for You, O God. My tears have been my food day and night, while they say to me all day long, “Where is your God?” Why are you in despair, O my soul? And why have you become disturbed within me?

Hope in God, for I shall again praise Him for the help of His presence. Deep calls to deep at the sound of Your waterfalls; all Your breakers and Your waves have rolled over me. The Lord will command His lovingkindness in the daytime; and His song will be with me in the night.

I will say to God my rock, “Why have You forgotten me?” As a shattering of my bones, my adversaries revile me, while they say to me all day long, “Where is your God?” Why are you in despair, O my soul? And why have you become disturbed within me? Hope in God, for I shall yet praise Him, the help of my countenance and my God.   Excerpts from Psalm 42

Thoughts/questions: This Psalm may sound like a few of us as we start our Christian life at a point where we can’t get enough of God. Then deep calls to deep (I love that phrase) as we are challenged by life and others, and prayerfully, then we end our struggle with the closing verse:  Hope in God, for I shall yet praise Him, the help of my countenance and my God. 

When deep calls to deep in your life, quickly move to a place where your soul pants for You, O God, and then to a point where you can truly hope in God

Suggested prayer: Dear Lord, when the difficulties of life oppress me, may I seek hope by seeking You . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

