Posted by: Larry Hoekman | December 1, 2016

Psalms — Psalm 50 – The Lord has Spoken!

Day 2601: Another day to be thankful!

Scripture: The Mighty One, God, the Lord, has spoken, and summoned the earth from the rising of the sun to its setting. Out of Zion, the perfection of beauty, God has shone forth. May our God come and not keep silence.

“Hear, O My people, and I will speak; O Israel, I will testify against you; I am God, your God. “For every beast of the forest is Mine, the cattle on a thousand hills. “I know every bird of the mountains, and everything that moves in the field is Mine. “If I were hungry I would not tell you, for the world is Mine, and all it contains.”

But to the wicked God says, “What right have you to tell of My statutes and to take My covenant in your mouth? “For you hate discipline, and you cast My words behind you. “Now consider this, you who forget God, or I will tear you in pieces, and there will be none to deliver. “He who offers a sacrifice of thanksgiving honors Me; and to him who orders his way aright I shall show the salvation of God.”  Excerpts from Psalm 50

Thoughts/questions: I regularly summon my dog. Sometimes he comes, sometimes not! However, The Mighty One summons the whole earth from one side to the other and it listens! What a MIGHTY God! Everything is His! Yet He has chosen to share it all with us – Wow!

For you hate discipline – most of us don’t welcome discipline, but heaven help us if we ‘hate’ it! As our loving Father, He disciplines us. May we respond to His discipline by ordering our way aright – and be shown God’s salvation.

Suggested prayer: Dear God, the Lord, the Mighty One; when I need it, please discipline me . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

