Posted by: Larry Hoekman | December 3, 2016

Psalms — Psalm 52 – But As For Me . . .

Day 2603: Christmas parties started yet???

Scripture: Why do you boast in evil, O mighty man? The lovingkindness of God endures all day long. Your tongue devises destruction, like a sharp razor, O worker of deceit. You love evil more than good, falsehood more than speaking what is right. Selah.

You love all words that devour, O deceitful tongue. But God will break you down forever; He will snatch you up and tear you away from your tent, and uproot you from the land of the living. Selah.

The righteous will see and fear, and will laugh at him, saying, “Behold, the man who would not make God his refuge, but trusted in the abundance of his riches and was strong in his evil desire.” But as for me, I am like a green olive tree in the house of God; I trust in the lovingkindness of God forever and ever. I will give You thanks forever, because You have done it, and I will wait on Your name, for it is good, in the presence of Your godly ones.  Psalm 52

Thoughts/questions:  It’s now our turn to respond as the Psalmist did, “But as for me . . .” You just read how the Psalmist, most say David, responded, but what about you? Others are responsible for their relationship to God, and their relationship really should have no bearing on ours.

So, how do you finish the contrasting thought – but as for me, I _____  ______ _____ . . . ? ‘I am good in comparison to others?’ I am OK, and that’s good enough for me?’ or ‘I am a humble follower of Jesus who has committed my entire life to Him. I choose to trust Him, depend on Him, thank Him, and praise Him because in my life I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that it wasn’t me in control, but it was God who has done it!!!

Suggested prayer: Almighty God, help me never to be satisfied because I compare myself with others . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

