Posted by: Larry Hoekman | December 21, 2016

Christmas — What Gift Can I Bring?

Day 2618: Lots of shoppers out there; hopefully lots who also know Jesus, the reason for the season!

Scripture: As each one has received a special gift, employ it in serving one another as good stewards of the manifold grace of God. I Peter 4:10

Thoughts/questions: Excerpts from The Little Drummer Boy and then some thoughts!

‘Come they told me
Pa rum pum pum pum
A new born King to see
Pa rum pum pum pum

Our finest gifts we bring
Pa rum pum pum pum
To lay before the kIng
I have no gift to bring
Pa rum pum pum pum
That’s fit to give our King

Shall I play for you
Pa rum pum pum pum
On my drum
Mary nodded
Pa rum pum pum pum
The ox and lamb kept time
Pa rum pum pum pum

I played my drum for Him
Pa rum pum pum pum
I played my best for Him
Pa rum pum pum pum,

Then He smiled at me
Pa rum pum pum pum’

At Christmas when we consider the truly amazing gift Jesus was to us, what we can give back to Him seems paltry at best. The ‘drummer’ boy’ faced this same dilemma, but found that what he could give, he should give, and did give! He played his drum and then Jesus smiled at him!

For us to have Jesus smile at us, we simply need to do the same. What we could give, we should give! Whatever it is, small or great, we are to do as today’s verse indicates – employ it in serving one another as good stewards of the manifold grace of God. Let us all play our drum and play it the best we can for Him!!!

Suggested prayer: Lord Jesus, You have given so much for me; help me to give back to You by giving to others . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

