Posted by: Larry Hoekman | January 3, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 57 – Let the Singing Begin!

Day 2629: Now it’s officially 2017. May it go a bit slower than 2016!

Scripture: Be gracious to me, O God, be gracious to me, for my soul takes refuge in You; and in the shadow of Your wings I will take refuge until destruction passes by. I will cry to God Most High, to God who accomplishes all things for me. He will send from heaven and save me; He reproaches him who tramples upon me. 

Be exalted above the heavens, O God; let Your glory be above all the earth. My heart is steadfast, O God, my heart is steadfast; I will sing, yes, I will sing praises! Awake, my glory! Awake, harp and lyre! I will awaken the dawn. 

I will give thanks to You, O Lord, among the peoples; I will sing praises to You among the nations. For Your lovingkindness is great to the heavens and Your truth to the clouds. Be exalted above the heavens, O God; let Your glory be above all the earth.   Excerpts from Psalm 57

Thoughts/questions: The Psalms are often ancient songs and have provided the material for many current choruses. The second and third sections have done just that! I trust reading Psalm 57 brought these songs to your remembrance and your lips!

Taking refuge in a shadow when destruction is near doesn’t at first appear to be the very best course of action does it? Especially the shadow of ‘wings.’ However, shadows can be intimidating and bring safety, but only when that shadow is BIG!

A large shadow denotes a large object casting it! God’s vast wings can shadow us, surround us, and protect us. Let every shadow you see remind you that all we need is merely the shadow of the Living God for us to find refuge and comfort!

Suggested prayer: Lord God, You are my refuge and strength . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

