Posted by: Larry Hoekman | January 5, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 59 – Deliver Us From Evil!

Day 2640: My area of CA got some MUCH needed rain yesterday. Praise God!

Scripture: Deliver me from my enemies, O my God; set me securely on high, away from those who rise up against me. Lord, for no guilt of mine, they run and set themselves against me. Arouse Yourself to help me, and see! You, O Lord God of hosts, the God of Israel, awake to punish all the nations; do not be gracious to any who are treacherous in iniquity. Selah.

Behold, they belch forth with their mouth; swords are in their lips, for, they say, “Who hears?” But You, O Lord, laugh at them; You scoff at all the nations. My God in His lovingkindness will meet me; God will let me look triumphantly upon my foes.    Selah.

They return at evening, they howl like a dog, but as for me, I shall sing of Your strength; yes, I shall joyfully sing of Your lovingkindness in the morning, for You have been my stronghold and a refuge in the day of my distress.   Excerpts from Psalm 59

Thoughts/questions: The Psalmist’s prayer for deliverance from his enemies seems extreme, yet remember the Lord’s Prayer Jesus taught us – deliver us from evil or deliver us from the evil one. Evil in the a variety of forms DOES exist and like the Psalmist and the Lord’s Prayer, we should be seeking deliverance from it EVERY day!

We tend to prefer to sing of God’s strength and His lovingkindness, which we should do! However, never forget to pray with David, Deliver me from my enemies, O my God!

Suggested prayer: Almighty God, deliver me from ALL evil . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

