Posted by: Larry Hoekman | January 14, 2017

Thoughts for 2017 — If Not Now, When?

Day 2648: Continuing to consider characteristics which might help us in 2017

Scripture: Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer. Romans 12:12 Whoever is patient has great understanding, but one who is quick-tempered displays folly. Proverbs 14:29

Thoughts/questions: Patience – In Romans, it is called affliction. In the dictionary, it is referred to as delay, trouble, or suffering. Whatever it is, it is ‘bad’ and we are not liking it!

Ok, now what? The affliction happens, and then? Proverbs tells us we have great understanding when we are patient. So what are we to understand about affliction to avoid displaying folly by being quick tempered?

Think of times when you actually are patient. It might be hard, but I know you can come up with something here! Was your patience the result of having a ‘special’ relationship with the person who was causing you trouble? Were you patient because at that moment the good so far outweighed the bad in your life that you could put up with anything?

Did your patience come from knowing more about the issue than just what appeared on the surface causing you to empathize with the problem causer? Were you patient simply because you didn’t care? How about because it was the first time it happened, but you wouldn’t be so patient if it happened again?

How about this? I will be patient because I daily seek that gift from the Holy Spirit, as I cannot do it on my own! I will be patient because I understand the problem of sin and seek to minimize its influence on my life! I will be patient with others because it truly is NOT all about me!

Suggested prayer:  Almighty God, I seek patience. Help me . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

