Posted by: Larry Hoekman | January 18, 2017

Thoughts for 2017 — Talk To God!

Day 2651: Today’s thought – Prayer!

Scripture: Pray without ceasing. I Thessalonians 5:17   (Jesus speaking) And when you pray, do not keep on babbling like pagans, for they think they will be heard because of their many words.  Matthew 6:7

Thoughts/questions: Yesterday a friend remarked that prayer is the foundation of our faith. I’ve always felt that today’s short verse reads more like this in my life – that I will cease without praying!

Maybe 2017 will be different for me and possibly you as well. Last night I woke up in the middle of the night and couldn’t sleep. I felt the need to get up and pray, but instead I got up and read a novel – NOT the right choice!

I take comfort in Jesus’ statement that the length of my prayer is not the key, but that doesn’t minimize ‘pray without ceasing!’ True, we shouldn’t just babble on, but talking to God should be done on a regular basis.

Think of those you speak with more than you talk to God – spouse, co-worker, friend, even your pet cat or dog! This should not be so. Let’s make 2017 a year where we up our ‘prayer grade!’ When the thought arises, talk to your heavenly Father! I know we can talk to Him more than we do our pets!

Suggested prayer: Father God, I don’t need to make the time to talk with You, I just need to take the time to do so! Help me to speak to you regularly . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

