Posted by: Larry Hoekman | January 25, 2017

Thoughts for 2017 — Two Ears, But . . .

Day 2657: Hold tightly those who are close to you . . .

Scripture: ‘Call to Me and I’ll answer you, and will tell you about great and hidden things that you don’t know.’ Jeremiah 33:3

Thoughts/questions: We’ve all heard the expression about having two ears and one mouth so we should do the math, but although today’s God2me is about listening, it is not about listening to others, it is about hearing the voice of God!

For me, old age and tinnitus have combined to make hearing anything in an environment with distractions a difficult scenario. Distractions also make it pretty tough to hear the God who speaks in a still small voice.

I need a quiet place to hear that voice, but don’t often put myself in that position. How about you? Do we even expect God to speak to us as indicated in today’s verse? And if He did speak, how loud would He have to yell for us to hear Him?

I plan on doing two things in 2017. Putting myself in that quiet place more often and using the two ears/one mouth idea and attempt to listen/hear the voice of God as much as I speak/pray to Him. Join me!

Suggested prayer: Father God, I will call to You. Please answer me as I will take the time to listen . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

