Posted by: Larry Hoekman | January 28, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 61 – A High Rock!

Day 2660: Back to Psalms on this TGIF – Thank God I’m Forgiven!

Scripture:  God, hear my cry; pay attention to my prayer. From the end of the earth I will cry to You whenever my heart is overwhelmed. Place me on the rock that’s too high for me. For You have been a refuge for me, a tower of strength before the enemy.

Let me make my home in Your tent forever; let me hide under the shelter of Your wings. For You, God, have heard my promises; You have assigned to me the heritage of those who fear Your name.

Add day after day to the king’s life; may his years continue for many generations. May he be enthroned before God forever; appoint Your gracious love and truth to guard him. So I will sing songs to your name forever; I will fulfill my promises day by day.   Psalm 61

Thoughts/questions:  The Psalmist asks God to place me on the rock that’s too high for me. Two thoughts on this: 1) That rock is too high for us to get to on our own. The only way to get there is for The Almighty to place us there! May we request the same thing – that God takes us out of our present situation and spiritually places us on a solid rock far above our difficulties so we can confidently see our circumstances from above; from the perspective of God Himself!

2) Standing at the edge of Yosemite’s Dome of the Rock would be a rock much too high for me. Fear would cause me to lie down or back up a bit. When we ask God to place us on this high rock, He knows we can’t handle it without His direct help as we get overcome with fear. May we depend on God when we get to places that are too high for us!

Suggested prayer: Almighty God, please take me to Your high rock and change me . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

