Posted by: Larry Hoekman | January 31, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 63 -I Will Lift Up My Hands!

Day 2662: 2017 has already lost a month, so time hasn’t slowed a bit!

Scripture:  God, you are my God! I will fervently seek You. My soul thirsts for You; my flesh longs for You in a dry, weary, and parched land. So I have looked for You in the sanctuary, to behold Your power and glory. Because Your gracious love is better than life itself, my lips will praise You. So I will bless You as long as I live; I will lift up my hands unto Your name.

But as for those who seek to destroy me, they will go down to the depths of the earth; may they be given over to the power of the sword; may they become carrion for jackals. But as for the king, he will rejoice in God. Indeed, everyone who swears by God will exult,  because the mouths of liars will be silenced.  Excerpts from Psalm 63 written by David when stranded in the wilderness.

Thoughts/questions: The Maranatha song, Thy Loving Kindness (is better than life) from the ’70’s was the first time I ever raised my hands in praise. The lyrics made doing that easier – I will lift up my hands unto Thy name.

David was on the run. Afraid and away from family and friends. Where did he turn? He fervently sought his God! There are times we feel alone with unseen enemies surrounding us. Is this our response? Fervently seeking The Almighty? Or do we seek horizontal solutions?

If His love is truly better than life itself, His love is definitely better than our issues!!! Let’s focus on that love and lift our hands unto His name!

Suggested prayer: Almighty God, my lips will praise You; so will I bless You; I will lift up my hands unto Your name . . .

   

Leave a Reply

Categories

