Posted by: Larry Hoekman | February 11, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 69 – Deliver and Destroy!

Day 2672: May your weekend be wonderful!

Scripture: God, in the abundance of Your gracious love, answer me with Your sure deliverance. Let neither the floodwaters overwhelm me nor let the deep swallow me up, nor the mouth of the well close over me.

Answer me, Lord, for Your gracious love is good; turn to me in keeping with Your great compassion, and do not ignore Your servant, because I am in distress. All my enemies are known to You. May their eyes be blinded and may their bodies tremble continuously. May their camp become desolate and their tents remain unoccupied. May you punish them for their crimes; may they receive no verdict of innocence from You. 

As for me, I am afflicted and hurting; may Your deliverance, God, establish me on high. Let me praise the name of God with a song that I may magnify Him with thanksgiving. May you who seek God take courage. For the Lord listens to the needy and doesn’t despise those in bondage. Let the heavens and earth praise Him, along with the sea and its swarming creatures.   Portions of the last section of Psalm 69

Thoughts/questions: The Psalmist requests two things: his deliverance and the destruction of his enemies. We’ve probably all felt that way at some point, but is that God’s standard for us?

Jesus said no! But I say to you, love your enemies, and pray for those who persecute you Matt. 5:44 This statement is one of the many times being a Christ follower is revolutionary! Sure we can initially respond like the Psalmist; however, we are ultimately responsible to follow Jesus, not our emotional response!

Have enemies? Start praying for them and then God will begin a work in you where you will be able to be like Jesus and love your enemies!

Suggested prayer: Lord God, I can’t do this by myself . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

