Posted by: Larry Hoekman | February 20, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 75 – It Is I!

Day 2679: No random acts of kindness today. Today, make those acts purposeful and intentional!!!

Scripture:  We give thanks to You, O God, we give thanks, for Your name is near; men declare Your wondrous works. “When I select an appointed time, it is I who judge with equity. “The earth and all who dwell in it melt; it is I who have firmly set its pillars. Selah.

“I said to the boastful, ‘Do not boast,’ and to the wicked, ‘Do not lift up the horn; do not lift up your horn on high, do not speak with insolent pride.’” For not from the east, nor from the west, nor from the desert comes exaltation; but God is the Judge; He puts down one and exalts another.

But as for me, I will declare it forever; I will sing praises to the God of Jacob. And all the horns of the wicked He will cut off, but the horns of the righteous will be lifted up.   Excerpts from Psalm 76

Thoughts/questions: Power – an incredible force and too often sought after at the expense of others. Today’s Psalm shares the simple truth – God has the power; He will exert His power; and equitable judgment is coming for the proud and for the righteous!

Horns are used to symbolize power and authority analogous to animals with horns which are utilized to exert power. People in power often speak with insolent pride, BUT God simply refutes that by stating, “IT IS I!

Be humble; know that as the righteous, you will prevail; and you will prevail only because the great I AM will lift you up!

Suggested prayer: Almighty God, may Your truth be my rock in challenging times . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

