Posted by: Larry Hoekman | February 27, 2017

Psalms — Psalm 81 – I, The Lord Am Your God!

Day 2685: MMM Make Mondays Matter!

Scripture: Sing for joy to God our strength; shout joyfully to the God of Jacob. Raise a song, strike the timbrel, the sweet sounding lyre with the harp. Blow the trumpet at the new moon, at the full moon, on our feast day. 

“You called in trouble and I rescued you; Hear, O My people, and I will admonish you; O Israel, if you would listen to Me! Let there be no strange god among you; nor shall you worship any foreign god. I, the Lord, am your God, Who brought you up from the land of Egypt.”

“But My people did not listen to My voice, and Israel did not obey Me. “So I gave them over to the stubbornness of their heart, to walk in their own devices. “Oh that My people would listen to Me, that Israel would walk in My ways! “I would quickly subdue their enemies and turn My hand against their adversaries.   Excerpts from Psalm 81

Thoughts/questions: It’s so simple, yet so hard – God is God and we are not! God knows His position and states it clearly, “I, the Lord, am your God” but we tend to find whatever strange god that assaults our attention, and off we go walking in our own devices!

Like a loving parent to a wayward child, “Oh that my child would listen to me,” God feels the same way about us! God is on our side and partners with us when we humbly listen to Him and obey. Examine your life! Is there an area in which you need to listen and obey? If so, now is the time!

Suggested prayer: Lord God, help me to continuously recognize Your position as God and to know how much You love me . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

