Posted by: Larry Hoekman | March 17, 2017

God’s Faithfulness!

Day 2701: Out of town this weekend, so a review of God’s faithfulness!

Scripture:  The mindset of a sinner leads to sin and death, but when my mind is controlled by the Spirit, it leads to life and peace.  Romans 4:6b  

Thoughts/questions:  This is an account of Awuna Sunday from Nigeria. He heard gunfire on November 28, 2008, and because Christ followers are frequent targets of attacks, he quickly went home and saw his town under attack. He realized it was Friday and that the children would be rehearsing for their Sunday School program, so he went to the church. There he saw children crying for help and then spotted an unusual container with a wire hanging from it.

“I went to remove it from the presence of the children,” he recalls. “I thought something would happen if I didn’t.” He picked it up to throw it out and it exploded in his hand. Awuna was knocked to the ground, but the children were unharmed. He spent the next six months in the hospital where his physical and mental wounds were slow to heal. “For three to six months I didn’t know where I was,” Awuna says. “I didn’t know the difference between night and day. I was thinking of revenge!” Other Christ followers began visiting him, praying for him, and helping him read the Bible. His thirst for revenge was replaced by an insatiable desire for Christ.

“Before the attack, I was not a strong Christian,” Awuna says. “I only went to church on Sundays. But after going through what I went through, seeing other Christians go through suffering, having Christians encourage me and pray for me, it all brought me closer to Christ. I’m more committed to prayer and fasting and studying the Bible. God gave me a second chance to live in the world, and i want to live it for God’s glory. I share my story with them to encourage them even more.”

And what a story to tell! God’s faithfulness working through the lives of fellow believers brought Awuna to a point where he can now fulfill the Shema and share his story and changed life with others!!!  May it encourage you as well!       

Suggested Prayer: Lord God, please protect those like Awuna who risk their lives for Your name . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

